
It’s the Law  
It is unlawful to 
operate a motor 
vehicle while 
under the  
influence of alcohol  
and/or drugs.  Iowa Code 321J  
outlines the sanctions that can be imposed 
on offenders.  Iowa drivers who offend in 
another state will also be required to comply 
with the civil sanctions in Iowa.   

Penalties 
OWI offenders in Iowa face both criminal 
and civil penalties. The court determines 
what criminal penalties to impose on the 
offender.  They often include, but are not 
limited to, jail time, fines, education,  
substance abuse evaluation, community      
service, and restitution to victims.  In some 
cases, the court may dismiss the case  
or not require the offender to satisfy any 
criminal requirements.  State law specifies 
what civil penalties are imposed in order   
for the offender to reinstate their driver’s 
license.   

Driver’s License Reinstatement 
If your driver’s license has been revoked for 
any OWI offense under Iowa Code 321J 
(whether as a result of a court order or  
administrative action), the license may not 
be reinstated until you: 

• Satisfy the revocation period 

• Pay a $200 civil penalty 
• Present proof of completion of a state 

mandated drinking driver course and 
completion of a state mandated substance 
abuse evaluation/treatment  

• Meet financial responsibility requirements  
• Comply with the interlock requirements, if 

applicable 
 

Drinking Driver Course  
Iowa requires that individuals who offend in 
Iowa or Iowa drivers who offend in another 
state complete a course for drinking drivers.  
Iowa utilizes the Prime for Life 12-hour  
curriculum.  In some cases, the court may 
allow or require you to complete your jail 
time and drinking driver course in one 
program known as the 48-hour program or 
weekend program.  There are a number of 
locations in Iowa that offer the program.  For 
additional information visit: 
http://owi.educateiowa.gov. 

If you wish to take the drinking driver course 
in another state, please contact the Iowa 
Department of Education for assistance.  
Iowa does not accept online drinking driver 
courses. 

There is a $25 processing fee if you take 
the drinking driver course outside of Iowa.  
This fee is not required if you take the 
course in Iowa.  Payment may be  
made with a money order or online  
with a debit/credit card at: 
https://epay.educateiowa.gov.  

Substance Abuse Evaluation  
Individuals who offend in Iowa or Iowa  
drivers who offend in another state are  
required to complete a substance abuse 
evaluation performed by a state-licensed 
evaluator/facility and comply with  
recommendations.  A listing of approved 
facilities in Iowa can be found at: 
http://owi.educateiowa.gov   

Call 515-281-5251 or email: 
OWIIowa@Iowa.gov for assistance in lo-
cating services in another state. 

Documentation - Proof that you  
completed the requirements must be  
submitted to both the court and the state. 
If you offend in a state other than the state 
you hold a license in, you may be required 
to provide documentation to both states.   
Documentation does not automatically 
transfer from one entity or one state to  
another.   

If you complete the drinking driver course 
and substance abuse evaluation/treatment 
requirements in Iowa, your completion will 
be reported to Iowa driver’s license officials 
by the agency that provided the services to 
you.  You are responsible for ensuring your 
documentation is sent to the clerk of court of 
the county in which you were arrested.   

If you take the drinking driver course and/or 
evaluation/treatment outside of Iowa, you 
are responsible for submitting the  
documentation to the Iowa Department of 
Education for processing. 



OWI Offender Check List 
 
 Have you completed a course for  

drinking drivers?  Did you report the 
completion of the course to the state 
and the court? 
 

 Have you completed a substance  
abuse evaluation?  Did you report 
the completion of the evaluation to  
the state and the court?   
 

 Was it recommended that you complete 
substance abuse treatment?  If so, did 
you complete it, and was it reported to 
the state? 
 

 Have you submitted your civil penalty 
payment to the Iowa Department of 
Transportation?  
 

 Have you submitted your criminal fine to 
the court? 
 

 Have you served your required jail time? 
 

 You may be required to have an ignition 
interlock system installed in your  
vehicle, show proof that you have auto 
insurance liability coverage, and/or  
provide proof of residency.  Contact the 
Iowa Department of Transportation to  
verify. 

 

 
 
 
 

Contact Information 
 

Iowa Department of Transportation 
Office of Driver Services 
P.O. Box 9204 
Des Moines, IA  50306 
800-532-1121 
Email: ods@DOT.iowa.gov   
Fax: 515-239-1837 

Website: Iowadot.gov/mvd/ods/owi.html 

 

 
 
 
Visit MyMVD -- Motor vehicle Information 
Online - Anytime! 

mymvd.iowadot.gov/Account/Login 

 

Iowa Department of Education 
Drinking Driver Program 
400 East 14th Street 
Des Moines, IA  50319 
515-281-5251 
Email: OwiIowa@iowa.gov  
Fax: 515-242-5988 
 

Website: OWI.educateiowa.gov  
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