
 
 

State of Iowa 
Out-Of-State OWI Education 

 

Iowa Department of Education 
Attn: Drinking Driver Education 

400 East 14th Street 
Des Moines, IA  50319-0416  

Fax: 515-242-5988      E-mail: OWIIowa@iowa.gov   

 
OWI OFFENDER INFORMATION 

Please print clearly or type information below.  Failure to provide  
requested information may delay clearance of the hold on your driving record. 

 

Name:      Date of Birth:  
 Last Name  First Name  MI  (mm/dd/yyyy) 

 

IDOT Customer #      Social Security #:   
*This number can be obtained by calling the IDOT at 800-532-1121    

In what state did you get your OWI/DUI?  

Address:  Telephone #:  

City:  State:  Zip:  

E-mail (optional):  
If you would like to receive an e-mail confirmation that we have received your information, please provide us with your e-mail 
address.   If you do not have an e-mail address, you may call our office for confirmation 515.281.5251. 
 

OWI Requirements  

Iowa requires that OWI offenders successfully complete a course for drinking drivers, and a substance abuse 
evaluation.  Non-Iowans who offend in Iowa may complete these requirements in another state.   

You will need to submit a certificate or letter of completion from the education program which clearly 
specifies the name of the agency providing the education and its location, the number of hours of the course, and 
the date the course was completed.  The course MUST be a state approved program and at least 8 hours in 
length.  If your course was not at least 8 hours in length, you will need additional education so that the total equals 
at least 8 hours. Treatment will not be accepted in lieu of education.  Please note that on-line classes will not 
be accepted. 

You will also need to provide documentation of a substance abuse evaluation/assessment which clearly 
specifies the date of the evaluation, the name of the evaluator/agency, the evaluator’s recommendation, the 
evaluator/agency’s location/telephone number.  If the evaluation recommends treatment, documentation showing 
when and where the treatment was completed must also be submitted.  

 

 
FOR OFFICE   

USE ONLY 

 

Return this form to: 

 Education  Class Date   
 

 

  

 Payment  Credit Card  Check  Cash  Received  
 

 

  

 Evaluation   
 

 
  

 Treatment Y        N Completion Date   
 

Iowa law requires that individuals cited for operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs 
complete a drinking driver education course and a substance abuse evaluation.  In order for the State of Iowa to 
release the hold placed on your driving record, you will need to submit proof that you have completed the 
education and evaluation. This form is to be used when submitting documentation for a drinking driver 
education course completed outside of the State of Iowa. 
 

Complete this form and return it with all documentation noted below.  There is an administrative fee of $25 for 
submitting documentation for drinking driver classes completed out of state.  Payment in the form of a cashier’s 
check or money order should be made out to the Iowa Department of Education.  You may also pay this fee with 
a credit or debit card at:  https://epay.educateiowa.gov   We are unable to accept personal checks.   



 
 
 
 
 

Under penalty of perjury, I affirm that the information listed on this form is true and correct. 
 

   

Signature of Offender  Date 
 
 
Check List 
Please make sure you have: 
 

completed and signed this form 

 attached documentation in the form of a certificate or letter of completion for at least 8-hours of drinking driver 
education 

 attached a copy of your substance abuse evaluation 

 provided documentation to show you have completed treatment, IF the evaluation indicated treatment was 
recommended 

 sent payment in the amount of $25 in the form of a cashier’s check/money order made out to the Iowa Department 
of Education OR made arrangements to submit your payment electronically 

 
Form 2013 

 


